Dhuish National School was opened in 1875 and was assigned number 7927. According to an article in the Anglo Celt, it could boast of a real Gaelic name long before it became fashionable or obligatory.
It derived its name from the small black mountain overlooking it, Dubh Mish. This two teacher school closed in 1975, with approx. 23 pupils, who went to schools in the local towns to finish their education. In 2005 Dhuish Group Water Scheme purchased the old school from St. Felim’s Diocesan Trust, thus keeping the building in community ownership. A filtration system was installed to supply quality water to the area. In 2020, it’s original plaque remains, the old school looks the same, except for a large roller door in the gable end and inside machinery hums as it works to provide water to the community.